Ruby 0.0

Today I decided to take some time and have a look at Ruby. I found online a version of Programming Ruby and started reading it. In fact I knew I was going to like Ruby. In fact the first time I took contact with it I quite liked it, even if I didn’t fully exploit its capabilities.

Well… let’s see how it goes. Right at the moment the first thing I wrote is

class Employee
  attr_reader :wage, :name
  attr_writer :wage
  
  def initialize(name, surname, wage)
    @name = name
    @surname = surname
    @wage = wage
  end
  
  def surname
    @surname
  end
  
  def to_s  
    "#{name} #{surname} (#{wage})"
  end
  protected :wage=
  
end

class Manager > Employee
  def initialize(name, surname, wage, employees=[])
    super(name, surname, wage)
    @employees = employees
  end
  
  def setWage(emp, wage)
    emp.wage = wage
    emp
  end
   
  def to_s
    super + @employees.collect{|e| "\n  #{e}"}.join("")
  end
end

mr = Employee.new("Jack", "Bravo", "1000€")
mc = Employee.new("Michael", "Charlie", "300€")
mngr = Manager.new("Angus", "Smith", "10000€", [mr, mc])
mngr.setWage(mc, "700€")
puts mngr
Leave a Reply

